Windows – Blue screen : BAD_SYSTEM_CONFIG_INFO

After reinstalling a laptop the PC was again unstable ?

And after a while I got a blue screen saying :

Error BAD_SYSTEM_CONFIG_INFO

image

When looking at the Event Viewer after recovery I saw a lot of Event ID 11

The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Ide\IdePortO.

image

So the first impression was that the disk way going to hell. But the PC was less then a year old ? So I had my doubts.

Let’s first see how my recovery journey went :

First I choose to boot using the Last Know Good Configuration

image

But it did not work ?

Next I Googled a bit and the solution seemed to be to run the System Repair –> Cmd –> and use the BCDEdit tool

image

image

If if you see these 2 values remove them using these 2 commands.

  bcdedit /deletevalue {default} numproc

  bcdedit /deletevalue {default} truncatememory

image

If the system would still start in SAFE MODE, you could change the settings using MSConfig.

image

Next I tried :

1) Hard disk diagnose (error checking under properties>tools of selected drive)

2) Disk Defragmentation, but it did not complete. In the middle it got stuck Sad smile

3) Changed the Hard Disk

But did not get any success.

Solution :

I googled a bit more and after applying all tips and tricks, it took me 2 days to come to the final solution.

image

I installed “Intel 8 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller” in this case. And after that i didn’t get any errors and system performance increased to a normal level.

Before this there where just the default Microsoft HD controller drivers, which created the unstable HD behavior ?

Leave a Reply

