Oracle – Database connection for SharePoint and SSRS

This is a series of adventures to took me a week to go through and find all the pitfalls !

Background : SharePoint 2010 Farm running on a Front-end IIS and Back-end MS SQL / SSRS Windows 2008 server.

I had the idea of quickly connecting the SSRS reports using Report Builder 3.0 to an out of domain Oracle DB.

And once the report was done to publish is on SharePoint. Because I had the SSRS running in SharePoint Integrated Mode. 

Since SSRS can connect to MS SQL and Oracle data source, I thought it would be nice to install the Oracle client and settings as well.

This is where the adventure starts ! Smile

Ok. First create a Free registration account on the Oracle web site in order to download the Client libraries.

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/topics/winsoft-085727.html

image

I had already setup the Oracle INSTANT Client on my Windows 7 x64 bit laptop. So I though this is a piece of cake to do the same on the hosted server. Which was out of my domain being admin ?

Next Question that came to me is should I download the x32 bit or the x64 bit or both ?

Followed by should I install it on the Front-end server or the Back-end server or both ?

Damn so many questions unanswered ?!! I looked all over the place on the internet to no reveal. Sad smile

So let’s do it the hard way then, using trail and error method.

These are the links to the posts on how to solve all issues I encoutered, installing Oracle ODBC connections for SharePoint and SSRS :

How to install the Oracle Instant Client x32 and x64 bit on the same machine side by side.

How to solve the error 206 when installing the Oracle ODBC drivers.

How to solve Publish Reports via Report Builder 3.0 not able to run against the Oracle Data Source.

How to solve Report Builder Parameter Report not working against an Oracle Data Source ‘@’ versus ‘:’

How to Solve the Report Builder Query does not run when published in SharePoint : ORA-03134

SharePoint SSRS UNICODE issue : Solve Chinese Control Characters

4 Responses to Oracle – Database connection for SharePoint and SSRS

  1. andrewvr says:

    Hi Patrick,

    Did you post any more information on your journey with Oracle? I am trying something similar, but using the OLEDB drivers (12g). But when running Power View (SSRS) using these drivers, I appear to freeze most of SharePoint. More specifically, all my services (on port 32844) stop responding, though there are no error messages anywhere that I can see,

    • @Andrew,

      Good that you reminded me on this ? I was under the impression I already posted all of this. 😦
      Over the next coming days I will post more of the route I followed to get things going

  2. Travis says:

    Did you install the ODBC drivers on the Front End (Web) or Back End (SQL/SSRS) servers?

    • @TRavis

      I installed the ODBC x32 & x64 driver on both front end and back end. Backend is needed if you have the Report Builder installed on that machine.
      Frontend is needed if you publish the reports to sharePoint, because SSRS in integrated mode uses that server side.

Leave a Reply

